County of San Luis Obispo Agricultural Liaison Advisory Board

2156 Sierra Way, Suite A San Luis Obispo, CA 93401

Monday, March 2, 2020, 5:00 p.m.



Agricultural Liaison Advisory Board (ALAB)

LOCATION: UC Cooperative Extension Auditorium 2156 Sierra Way, San Luis Obispo

1. 5:00pm Call to order, introductions, quorum determination Chair Wolff/Vice-Chair Rodrigues

2. 5:05pm Open comment: (for items not on the agenda) Chair Wolff/Vice-Chair Rodrigues

3. 5:10pm Review/approval of December 2019 meeting minutes Chair Wolff/Vice-Chair Rodrigues

4. 5:15pm Review/possible action:

ALAB Governance and membership updates *Election of Chair and Vice-Chair positions *Member terms up for renewal in 2020

5. 5:30 pm Updates from Ag Department & County staff *European Grapevine Moth trapping *SGMA Implementation Updates

6. 5:40 pm Review/possible action:

Presentation/Discussion: The Development of a Permanent Ordinance for Industrial Hemp Cultivation in San Luis Obispo County; review of the January 23, 2020 Planning Commission Hearing and anticipation of April 2020 Board of Supervisors Hearing

Marc Lea, San Luis Obispo County Department of Agriculture, Kip Morais, San Luis Obispo County Planning & Building Department, Dan Rodrigues – ALAB Hemp Subcommittee Chair

7. 6:10 pm Review/possible action:

Presentation/Discussion: Cannabis Cultivation and Potential Conflicts with Existing Agriculture – Development of a Condition of Approval regarding Pesticide Use Marc Lea, San Luis Obispo County Department of Agriculture

8. 6:40 Future agenda items/meeting dates, adjournment Chair Wolff/Vice-Chair Rodrigues

ALL TIMES ARE APPROXIMATE

MEMBERS: Please contact Marc Lea at the County Dept. of Agriculture at 805.781.5907 if you can NOT attend.

Scope of the Agricultural Liaison Advisory Board (ALAB):

The ALAB is advisory in nature and is recognized as a forum for discussion of matters that relate to local agriculture and land use or as directed by the County Board of Supervisors. ALAB members serve at the pleasure of the Board of Supervisors. Meetings are open to the public. **Meeting** agendas, minutes and supplemental handouts for agenda items can be accessed at www.slocounty.ca.gov/agcomm or at the County Department of Agriculture – 2156 Sierra Way, Suite A, San Luis Obispo during County business hours.

Positions/Members/Terms CHAIR: Jean-Pierre Wolff VICE CHAIR: Dan Rodrigues

District One: Peschong Appt. Craig Pritchard (1/21)

District Two: Gibson Appt. Lisen Bonnier (1/23)

District Three: Hill Appt. Tom Ikeda (1/21)

District Four: Compton Appt. Daniel Chavez (1/23)

District Five: Arnold Appt. vacant (1/21)

Ag. Finance Rep. Mark Pearce (8/22)

Cattlemen Rep. Dick Nock

Coastal San Luis RCD Rep. Jean-Pierre Wolff (8/22)

Direct Marketing/Organic Rep. Jutta Thoerner (4/20)

Environmental Rep. Krista Burke (1/23)

Farm Bureau Rep. R. Don Warden

Nursery Rep. Butch Yamashita (4/20)

Upper Salinas-Las Tablas RCD Rep. George Kendall (4/23)

Vegetable Rep. Claire Wineman (4/20)

Wine Grape Rep. Dan Rodrigues (4/20)

Strawberry Rep. vacant

County Agricultural Commissioner Marty Settevendemie *Ex-Officio* U.C. Coop. Extension, Farm Advisor Mark Battany